University Federation SouthWest Germany (HfSW)

According to the principle of „join forces and raise the profile“ the Universities of Applied Sciences of Aalen, Esslingen, Heilbronn, Mannheim, Ravensburg-Weingarten, Reutlingen and Stuttgart Media University are connected within the University Federation SouthWest Germany. Together they represent around 40.000 students and over 1.000 professorships.

Within the federation the universities meet challenges that can be coped with best by cooperating. Working groups from the fields of Research, International Affairs, Teaching, Quality Management, Further Education and Training or IT work together on projects. The joint master programmes Electromobility, Autonomous Driving and Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technology can be studied in part-time and are successful examples of cooperation.Furthermore the University Federation SouthWest Germany is working on a system of operating figures in order to further develop best-practice-sharing. Fostering international cooperations is another important field of activity. Within administration there is a strong focus on the exchange of information and of good practices.

The member universities work together in order to enhance the quality of Applied Teaching and Research. Through cooperation and joint projects the University Federation SouthWest Germany aims to find solutions to questions within the area of higher education at Universities of Applied Sciences. Systematic cooperation and its federal character form the essential basis for the success of the federation.

Each member university disposes of a strong international network holding international partnerships and projects. The subjects than can be studied at the universities of the federation cover a wide and attractive range in the fields of economics, social sciences and media. The members of University Federation SouthWest Germany are universities in top positions within the rankings of education in engineering.